Odoo Point of Sale (Community): Best for POS inside a full open-source ERP
Odoo Community is LGPL-3.0, and version 20.0 shipped in September 2027, which makes it one of two systems here with a confirmed recent release. The POS is a module inside a full ERP, so inventory, accounting and sales live in the same database rather than syncing between tools.
Payments are where Odoo separates itself from the rest of this page. It is the only system here with named card terminal modules: Adyen, Stripe, Mercado Pago, Razorpay and Viva.com. The other three name either nothing or something confirmed only in source code. For a business that needs card payments working on day one rather than as a project, that gap is the whole decision.
Two things are unresolved. Odoo's pricing page does not say whether its paid plans run Community, so you cannot tell from public information whether the $31.10 per user per month Standard plan gives you the open-source edition or the proprietary one. And support for self-hosted Community is not stated. Ask both questions before you budget, because a per-user plan at $31.10 scales very differently from a flat self-hosted install.
Pros
- LGPL-3.0, more permissive than GPL for proprietary extensions
- Card terminal modules for five processors
- v20.0 shipped September 2027
Cons
- Unclear whether paid plans run Community
- Support for self-hosted Community not stated
- Per-user pricing scales with headcount
Pricing: free self-hosted. Odoo Standard $31.10 per user per month on a 12-month discount, $38.90 full price.