Global Payments POS Review 2027: Pricing, Fees and Verdict
How we make money: CanComCo earns a commission from some POS and payments vendors when a business we refer signs up. Commission never changes a rating or a price we publish.
Global Payments at a Glance
READ THIS BEFORE ANY NUMBER ON THIS PAGE
There is no third-party listing for a "Global Payments POS System". There are three separate things:
globalpayments.com/pricing sells three software plans with a published card rate. That is where the $0, $42 and $129 come from.
G2 lists "Global Payments" under Payment Processing and Enterprise Payment. 4.2 from 7 reviews. The page never mentions point of sale, and the ten alternatives G2 names are BILL AP/AR, Stripe, Amazon Pay, PayPal, Corpay, Birdeye, Payoneer, Paylocity, Stampli and Thryv. Not one is a POS system.
Capterra lists "Global Payments Integrated" under the legacy slug OpenEdge. 2.4 from 54 reviews. Its stated purpose is letting developers of business management software accept payments inside their own systems.
Every figure on this page says which of the three it describes. If a later edit drops that, the page starts comparing a rate card to a review score for a different product.
| $0 a month on Essentials, $42 on Advanced, $129 on Complete. All shown as "starting at", for software subscription only, one station, standard configuration. | |
| 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction on all three plans. Applies to certain in-person card transactions. Online and card-not-present rates may differ and are not published. | |
| Processing fees, interchange, assessments and other third-party charges. The vendor states this plainly. | |
| Not published. The vendor's own FAQ says contract terms, including any potential termination fees, may vary depending on whether you buy direct or through a partner. | |
| No free trial. Capterra records "Free trial not available". Essentials at $0 is a free software subscription, not free processing. | |
| No price published. The pricing page names no terminal, reader or station SKU. The Advanced plan mentions hardware without a price. | |
| Capterra lists a starting price of $20 a month on a plan called "Basic". No such plan exists on Global Payments' own pricing page. | |
| The US pricing page quotes USD. Trustpilot's globalpayments.com page is Global Payments UK, based in Leicester. Canadian and German operations appear in reviewer evidence only. No published availability list was read. | |
| A published rate card, identical across all three plans. Most of this batch publishes nothing. | |
| Capterra scores value for money 1.9 from 50 reviews, the lowest on this site, with 29 of 54 reviews at one star. |
Global Payments, G2, Capterra and Trustpilot verified November 2026.
Global Payments Pricing: What You'll Actually Pay
Global Payments publishes more about its pricing than most vendors on this site, and it is careful about what the published figures cover. Both halves of that sentence matter.
Plans
| Plan | Monthly | Card rate | What the page says it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $0, starting at | 2.6% + $0.10 | Software subscription only, one station, standard configuration. Processing fees excluded. |
| Advanced | $42, starting at | 2.6% + $0.10 | Same rate. The page mentions hardware at this tier without pricing it, and does not itemize what Advanced adds over Essentials. |
| Complete | $129, starting at | 2.6% + $0.10 | Same rate. Includes guided onboarding and support, with no hours stated. |
| "Basic", per Capterra only | $20 | Not stated | Conflict. Capterra lists this starting price. No plan called Basic appears on Global Payments' own page. We cite the vendor's three figures and name the discrepancy rather than picking one. |
The same card rate across all three tiers is unusually clean. A business upgrading for features does not get repriced on processing. Compare Clover, where keyed transactions cost more than tapped ones, or Epos Now, which publishes no rate at all.
What the vendor attaches to those numbers
Global Payments qualifies its own figures more carefully than anyone else in this batch, and the qualifications are the useful part. Pricing shown is for software subscriptions only. Processing fees are excluded, including interchange, assessments and other applicable third-party charges. The card rates apply to certain in-person card transactions, and online, card-not-present and other transaction types may have different rates. All pricing and rate examples are illustrative: final pricing depends on services, equipment, configuration, volume, business type and risk profile, and is subject to underwriting, approval and applicable agreements. Rates, fees and terms can change.
Read that list again before you treat 2.6% plus $0.10 as your rate. It is the published starting point for in-person cards on a standard single-station configuration, subject to underwriting.
Contract terms, and the vendor's own disclosure
THE MOST USEFUL SENTENCE ON THE PRICING PAGE
The FAQ states that contract terms, including any potential termination fees, may vary depending on whether you work directly with Global Payments or through a partner.
That is an unusually candid thing for a payments company to publish, and it is also a warning. No contract length is published. No termination fee is published. Which set of terms you get depends on which channel sold you the account.
Two named Capterra reviewers describe termination fees applied in disputed circumstances. Brienne W. (Owner, Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, October 8, 2025) was charged one after cancelling over a misdirected $28,000 deposit. Jeff W. (Director, Religious Institutions, August 14, 2025) was charged a contract-breach fee that was refunded only after he pointed out the company had breached first.
Get the termination clause in writing, and find out which channel you are buying through, before you sign anything.
Payment processing
| Transaction type | Rate |
|---|---|
| In person | 2.6% + $0.10, on certain in-person card transactions |
| Online | Not published. The page says online and card-not-present rates may differ. |
| Keyed | Not published. Same caveat. |
| Custom or negotiated | Not published. Terms vary by direct or partner channel. |
| Cross-border or multi-currency | Not published. |
Do not reuse the in-person rate for e-commerce. The vendor says it may differ, and its FAQ adds that card network rules and interchange costs differ between in-person, phone and online payments.
What 54 reviewers say the cost became
This is the part the rate card does not cover, and it is the single biggest reason this page exists. Capterra scores value for money 1.9 out of 5 from 50 reviews, the lowest figure on this site. Named reviewers describe what changed after the first year.
Megan T. (Owner, Music, May 22, 2025, 1.0 stars) started at interchange plus 0.55% plus $0.25 per transaction. After about a year it rose to 1.5% plus $1.00 per transaction, with added risk assessment, settlement funding, PCI program and fixed network fees. Her effective rate reached over 7% in her final month.
Thomas B. (President, Alternative Medicine, August 8, 2025, 1.0 stars) reports a contracted average of 2.65% and overcharges of roughly $3,740 in March 2025, $3,779 in April and $2,392 in May. That is $9,910.49 across three consecutive months. He says the increase was applied overnight without notice.
Eric P. (Owner, Health, Wellness and Fitness, July 14, 2027, 1.0 stars), a customer of more than four years, was charged a $500 "one time infrastructure fee" on a single bill.
Robert S. (Provider, Health, Wellness and Fitness, October 6, 2025, 2.0 stars) reports almost $1,000 a month for services he considered unnecessary. He also says support was good and helped resolve point-of-sale problems.
Ksenia G. (Managing Director, Sports, April 27, 2025, 1.0 stars, written in German) says costs were not disclosed when she switched from Commerzbank: the contract linked to fee information without stating the costs, and her advisor did not mention that fees would apply.
Set against those, David C. (Owner, Health, Wellness and Fitness, May 3, 2027, 4.0 stars) has been a customer since 2018. He says fees fluctuated for a period, a conversation resolved it, and they have been stable since. That account is as real as the others and belongs in the same section.
REAL MONTHLY COST
A business on Essentials doing $20,000 a month across 400 card transactions, at the published rate:
Software: $0
Processing: $20,000 x 0.026 = $520.00, plus 400 x $0.10 = $40.00, giving $560.00
Total: $560.00 a month. On Advanced that is $602.00. On Complete, $689.00.
Now the number this page is really about. At the 7% effective rate Megan T. reports reaching, the same $20,000 of volume costs $1,400.00 in processing. That is $840.00 more per month, or $10,080.00 a year, against the published rate, with no change in what the business sells.
On a single $50 ticket: $1.40 at the published rate, an effective 2.8%. At 7%, $3.50. Two and a half times as much.
The published rate is real and it is competitive. Audit your statement every month, and set a calendar reminder for month thirteen.
Prices verified against globalpayments.com/pricing in November 2026. Review figures verified against Capterra the same day.
Global Payments Features: What Works and What Doesn't
Written from Global Payments' published pages and from review data on G2, Capterra and Trustpilot. No one at CanComCo has operated this product.
It is not a POS system
Start here, because the keyword that brought you to this page is misleading. Capterra's feature analysis for Global Payments Integrated does not include Mobile Access, and its feature list carries no product catalog and no inventory management. G2 files the product under Payment Processing and Enterprise Payment and names ten alternatives, none of which is a till. This is payment acceptance with software plans attached. If you are shopping for a point of sale, read our Square, Clover or Lightspeed reviews instead.
Embedded payments, which is the real product
Global Payments Integrated exists to let developers of business management software accept payments inside their own systems. That is the stated purpose on its Capterra listing, and it is where the positive reviews come from. G2's reviewer synthesis names flexible rates through the partner model, strong partner management, straightforward integration into customer systems, and PCI-compliant tokenized card storage. Even a critic concedes the point: Jeff W., a one-star reviewer, chose the product for its CRM integration.
Integration depth is the genuine strength
David C. has stayed since 2018 specifically because competitors cannot match the integration with his software. That is the most durable thing anyone says about this product in either review set, and it comes from a customer who also reports fee fluctuation. If your practice management, CRM or vertical software already integrates with Global Payments, the switching cost is the argument, and it is a real one.
What the feature list actually names
Capterra's feature list for this listing includes Accounting Integration, Payment Gateway Integration, ACH Payment Processing and eCommerce Management, none of them tied to a named partner. Note that Jeff W. reports ACH was promised on his account and never delivered. Capterra shows no integrations section for this listing at all, so every integration named on this page comes from a feature list or a named reviewer, never from a partner directory. We did not read one, so we name no specific partner software.
The brand problem is a product problem
Three brands, three listings, and reviewers who cannot tell which company to call. G2's own synthesis says support is fragmented across regions following acquisitions. Capterra's listing still sits under the OpenEdge slug. Heartland appears as another absorbed brand with its own separate Capterra listing, which we did not read. If you buy this, find out in advance which entity supports you and which one bills you.
Feature claims verified against Capterra and G2 in November 2026.
Hardware and Setup
No hardware price appears anywhere on the pricing page. The page prices software subscriptions only, names no terminal, reader or station SKU, and the Advanced plan mentions hardware without attaching a figure to it. Budget for hardware separately and get it quoted before you sign, because nothing here tells you what it costs.
Two pieces of reviewer evidence are worth having before you buy a terminal. G2's reviewer synthesis records a want for wireless device options, which suggests the current range is limited. And Sara D. (Chiropractic Physician, May 22, 2027), who rates the product 5.0 out of 5 and is otherwise positive, reports that keeping a connection to the terminal is difficult, which forces her to enter each patient's payment details manually. A five-star reviewer raising that is worth more weight than the same complaint from a one-star one.
On setup, the published figures are thin. No setup timeline appears on any page we read, so we give none. The Complete plan at $129 a month includes guided onboarding and support, with no hours stated. Essentials at $0 and Advanced at $42 do not say what onboarding they include.
Verified against globalpayments.com/pricing, Capterra and G2 in November 2026.
Customer Support: What to Expect When Things Break
There is a gap here between what is claimed and what is scored, and the gap is the finding.
What the listing claims. Capterra's listing for Global Payments Integrated records Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support, Chat, and a 24/7 live rep.
What the same listing scores. Customer Service 2.2 out of 5 from 50 reviews.
What the vendor publishes about hours. Nothing. The pricing page states no support hours. The Complete plan mentions guided onboarding and support without saying when it is available.
What reviewers describe, in both directions. Megan T. reports long hold times. Jeff W. says support was nonexistent after his account was set up. Jonathan M. (Owner, Accounting, August 25, 2025, written in French) says his funds were held for several days with little follow-up from his representative. Against those, Sara D. says support is available at all times, and Robert S., who rates the product 2.0 on cost grounds, says support was good and helped resolve his point-of-sale problems. The split is real and we are not going to average it away.
The structural version of the complaint comes from G2, whose reviewer synthesis records support as fragmented across regions following acquisitions. Put that next to Capterra's listing still sitting under the OpenEdge slug, and the routing problem reviewers describe starts to look like an org chart rather than a staffing issue.
Support languages are not published. Capterra's review set includes English, French and German submissions, which tells you about the customer base and nothing about which languages support covers.
Capterra and G2 verified November 2026.
Global Payments Pros and Cons
Pros
- A published rate card, which most of this batch does not have. Three named plans at $0, $42 and $129, all at 2.6% plus $0.10. Chase publishes nothing comparable, Deliverect publishes nothing, Fresha publishes nothing at all.
- The same card rate on every tier. Upgrading for features does not reprice your processing.
- Honest qualifications attached to the figures. The vendor states plainly that plan prices cover software only, exclude processing, apply to certain in-person transactions, and are subject to underwriting. That is more disclosure than most.
- It tells you that contract terms vary by sales channel. Candid, and genuinely useful if you act on it.
- Integration depth that even critics concede. David C. has stayed eight years because competitors cannot match it. Jeff W., a one-star reviewer, came for the CRM integration.
- A real ISV and embedded-payments product. If you are a software vendor putting payments inside your own product, this is what Global Payments Integrated is built for, and the positive reviews come from exactly that case.
Cons
- Value for money 1.9 from 50 reviews. The lowest score on this site, on the largest sample in this comparison set.
- 29 of 54 Capterra reviews are one star. That is 54% of the sample at the floor.
- Named reports of fee escalation after year one. Megan T. to over 7% effective, Thomas B. with $9,910.49 in disputed overcharges across three months, Eric P. with a $500 one-time infrastructure fee after four years.
- No contract length or termination fee published. Both vary by sales channel, per the vendor. Two reviewers describe termination fees applied in disputed circumstances.
- Online and keyed rates are not published at all. Only the in-person rate is, and the vendor says the others may differ.
- It is not a POS system. No product catalog, no inventory management, no Mobile Access on Capterra's feature analysis. G2 names ten alternatives and none is a till.
This profile suits a software vendor embedding payments, or a practice already integrated and willing to audit every statement. It frustrates anyone shopping for a till, and anyone who cannot absorb a rate change they did not agree to.
What Real Users Say About Global Payments
Three listings, three different products, and the two we rate disagree by 1.8 stars.
| Source | Score | Reviews | What it actually reviews | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capterra | 2.4 / 5 | 54 | "Global Payments Integrated", under the legacy slug OpenEdge. The embedded-payments product, not the POS plans. Ease of Use 2.7 (54), Features 2.6 (54), Value for Money 1.9 (50), Customer Service 2.2 (50). Sentiment 33% positive, 6% neutral, 61% negative. Distribution: 29 at one star, 4 at two, 3 at three, 4 at four, 14 at five. Starting price listed as $20 a month on a "Basic" plan the vendor does not have. Free trial not available. No pros-and-cons summary labels published. | Nov 5, 2027 |
| G2 | 4.2 / 5 | 7 | "Global Payments", under Payment Processing and Enterprise Payment. The page never mentions point of sale. Claimed and managed by the vendor with limited features. No category scores. The ten alternatives G2 names are BILL AP/AR, Stripe, Amazon Pay, PayPal, Corpay, Birdeye, Payoneer, Paylocity, Stampli and Thryv. | Nov 5, 2027 |
| Trustpilot | 4.6 / 5, "Excellent" | 4,582 | Excluded from our rating. This page is Global Payments UK, based in Leicester, not the US product priced on this page. Distribution: 82% five-star, 4% four-star, 12% one-star. Claimed since February 2024, on a paid Trustpilot subscription, with a 100% reply rate to negative reviews. Note a contradiction on the page itself: the printed score reads 4.6 while the star graphic's own alt text reads 4.5. | Nov 5, 2027 |
| Heartland Payments+ | Not read | A Global Payments-owned brand with its own separate Capterra listing. Flagged for a later pass to decide whether it belongs on this page. | ||
| Apple App Store and Google Play | Not researched | Not covered in this research pass. |
How the 3.3 was calculated. The unweighted mean of the product-specific published scores: G2 4.2 + Capterra 2.4 = 6.6, divided by 2 = 3.3. Trustpilot is excluded by method.
Why this is the least reliable rating on the site. Three reasons, and all three are required reading. First, the sources disagree by 1.8 stars, the widest gap we have recorded. Second, they are not reviewing the same listing: G2's covers "Global Payments" as payment processing, Capterra's covers "Global Payments Integrated" as embedded payments, and averaging them produces a number that describes neither. Third, the weight of evidence is lopsided in the opposite direction to the result: G2's 7 reviews are 11% of the 61-review sample and 50% of the rating, and weighted by review count the figure would be 2.6. The unweighted method lifts Global Payments by 0.7 on the smaller sample.
Read 3.3 as the arithmetic of a stated method, not as a verdict. The weight of published evidence, 54 reviews against 7, says 2.4.
What the review sets agree on. Integration is the strength. G2's synthesis names flexible rates through the partner model, strong partner management, straightforward customer integration and PCI-compliant tokenized card storage. Capterra's most loyal reviewer stays for the same reason. Both sets flag support: G2 as fragmented across regions after acquisitions, Capterra at 2.2 out of 5.
What they disagree on is cost, and the larger sample is the negative one.
Best Global Payments Alternatives
Verified November 2026.
-
Helcim
Consider this where the problem you are solving is fee opacity, because Helcim publishes the whole structure.
No monthly account fee, no setup fee, no PCI fee, and interchange-plus pricing published as a table: on under $50,000 a month, interchange plus 0.40% and 8 cents in person, interchange plus 0.50% and 25 cents keyed or online, with the margin falling automatically as volume rises, based on your last three months. Helcim states that in-person effective rates land near or below 2% for most merchants. Hardware is priced: Smart Terminal $349, Card Reader $199. On the thing this page is about, Helcim publishes: "No contracts, leases, termination fees or cancellation fees." You give up: enterprise-scale ISV integration and a large partner channel. Note: US and Canada only on the pricing page.
No monthly fee, interchange plus 0.40% and 8 cents in person.
-
Square POS
Consider this if you actually wanted a POS system, which this page's keyword suggests you might.
Capterra scores Square Point of Sale 4.6 from 3,036 reviews, against Global Payments Integrated's 2.4 from 54, with Ease of Use 4.7 (3,019), Features 4.5 (3,018), Value for Money 4.5 (2,254) and Customer Service 4.3 (1,957), and sentiment 94% positive. It publishes a full rate card across plans, offers a free version and a free trial, and is a real till with a catalog and inventory. You give up: the embedded ISV integration story, which is the one thing Global Payments' own reviewers consistently praise.
Free plan available; Capterra lists from $49/month.
-
Clover
Consider this for roughly the same published card economics with real POS hardware behind it.
Capterra scores it 3.8 from 587 reviews, with Ease of Use 4.0 (581), Features 3.8 (581), Value for Money 3.4 (476) and Customer Service 3.3 (482), and sentiment 69% positive. It is an actual point of sale with a catalog, inventory and a device range. You give up: not much on rate, and you take on Clover's own problems, which our review covers: a stated three-year contract requirement on device financing, and a Trustpilot score far below its Capterra one. Capterra publishes no starting price for Clover at all, listing it as "Contact vendor".
Also see our Chase Payment Solutions review, and our retail and restaurant POS guides. Internal links: /reviews/chase-payment-solutions-merchant-services/ · /industries/retail-stores/ · /industries/restaurants/
No published starting price.
Global Payments FAQ
How much does Global Payments cost?
Three published plans: Essentials at $0 a month, Advanced at $42 and Complete at $129, each shown as "starting at". All three carry the same card rate of 2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction. Those plan prices cover software only, for a single station in a standard configuration, and exclude processing fees, interchange and assessments. Capterra separately lists a $20 a month "Basic" plan that does not appear on Global Payments' own pricing page.
Is the $0 Essentials plan free?
The software subscription is $0. The processing is not. Every transaction still costs 2.6% plus $0.10 at the published rate. Capterra records "Free version not included" and "Free trial not available", which sits oddly beside a $0 plan, and the distinction between free software and free processing is why.
What are Global Payments' card processing fees?
2.6% plus $0.10 per transaction, on all three plans, for certain in-person card transactions. Online, phone and card-not-present rates are not published, and the vendor states they may differ. Nothing is published about negotiated or custom rates beyond a note that final pricing depends on volume, business type and risk profile and is subject to underwriting.
Is there a contract, and what does it cost to leave?
Not published, and the vendor says why. Its FAQ states that contract terms, including any potential termination fees, may vary depending on whether you work directly with Global Payments or through a partner. Two Capterra reviewers describe termination fees charged in disputed circumstances. Get the termination clause in writing, and establish which channel you are buying through, before you sign.
Why do the review scores disagree so much?
Because they are not reviewing the same thing. G2 lists "Global Payments" under Payment Processing and scores it 4.2 from 7 reviews. Capterra lists "Global Payments Integrated" under the legacy OpenEdge slug and scores it 2.4 from 54. Trustpilot's page covers Global Payments UK, a different market, and is excluded from our rating for that reason.
Do fees really increase after the first year?
Several named Capterra reviewers report that they did on their accounts. Megan T. describes a rate that started at interchange plus 0.55% and $0.25 and reached over 7% effective in her final month. Thomas B. reports roughly $9,910 in overcharges across three consecutive months against a contracted 2.65% average. Eric P., a customer of over four years, was charged a $500 one-time infrastructure fee. Against those, David C. has been a customer since 2018 and says fees fluctuated once, were resolved in a conversation, and have been stable since. Audit your statement monthly.
Is Global Payments a POS system?
Not in the sense most people mean. Capterra's feature analysis for this listing carries no product catalog and no inventory management, and does not include Mobile Access. G2 files it under Payment Processing and the ten alternatives it names are payment and AP/AR platforms, not tills. It sells software plans alongside payment acceptance. For a point of sale, look at Square, Clover or Lightspeed.
What hardware does it work with and what does it cost?
No hardware price is published anywhere on the pricing page, and no terminal, reader or station is named. The Advanced plan mentions hardware without pricing it. G2 reviewers want more wireless device options, and one five-star Capterra reviewer reports difficulty maintaining a terminal connection. Get hardware quoted separately before you commit.
Is Global Payments Right for Your Business?
Global Payments publishes a clearer rate card than almost anyone in this comparison set, and it qualifies that rate card honestly: software only, one station, in-person cards, subject to underwriting. It even tells you that your contract terms depend on whether you buy direct or through a partner, which most of its competitors leave you to discover. The integration is the real product, and it is good enough that an eight-year customer stays because nobody else can match it, and that a one-star reviewer signed up for it in the first place. If you are a software vendor putting payments inside your own product, this is what Global Payments Integrated is built for.
Then read the 54 reviews. Value for money scores 1.9 out of 5, the lowest figure on this site. Twenty-nine of fifty-four reviews sit at one star. Named operators describe what the cost became rather than what it started at: a rate that reached over 7% effective, roughly $9,910 in overcharges across three months against a contracted 2.65%, a $500 infrastructure fee in year five. None of that contradicts the published 2.6% plus $0.10, which is why both halves belong on the same page. And this is not a POS system: no catalog, no inventory, and ten G2-named alternatives without a till among them. If you buy, buy the integration, get the termination clause in writing, find out which entity bills you, and audit the statement every month from month one.
Commission disclosure applies. Rating is 3.3 / 5 as of November 2026, derived from published third-party scores by the method in How we review.
Compare against Helcim, Square POS and Clover. Internal links: /reviews/helcim-pos-system/ · /reviews/square-pos-system/ · /reviews/clover-pos-system/