Best POS Systems for Banquet Halls and Event Venues (2027)

No POS vendor page we read uses the words banquet hall or wedding venue. These three match your business by related wording, and this page says exactly which wording for each. Facts checked November 2026, with every source named.

We may earn a commission from links on this page. This does not affect our recommendations. See our Editorial Policy.

  • Best for deposits and BEOs: Toast. Multiple partial payments on one event invoice, and it creates banquet event orders.
  • Best for booking control: SpotOn. Prepayments, reminders and double-booking protection, through a $100 a month add-on.
  • The IRS names banquet halls directly: a fixed charge you impose is a service charge, not a tip.
Illustration: an empty banquet room with round tables set for service

Our Top Banquet Hall and Event Venue POS Picks at a Glance

All three systems match this vertical by related wording, not by naming it. Each card states its own match route in the verdict.

  • Best for booking control

    SpotOn

    Event and space booking with prepayments, reminders and double-booking protection. Matches by related wording: SpotOn describes venue management software for restaurant event space, so this fits a venue that also runs a restaurant more closely than a standalone hall.

    All-In Plan $0 per station per month, with processing minimums and a 2-year minimum term. Experiences add-on $100/mo plus $250 one-time setup. Sources: spoton.com/pricing, spoton.com/solutions/experiences

  • Closest direct naming

    WellnessLiving

    The only one of the three whose page names a small event venue. Takes deposits at booking and charges after service. It is an event, tour and activity platform rather than a hospitality POS, so check it against a catering operation before you shortlist it.

    Starter $69/mo. Business, which includes Events Scheduling, $199/mo. List prices alongside an 80% promotion whose stated expiry of Oct 31, 2027 has passed. Currency not labeled. Source: wellnessliving.com/pricing

Why No POS Vendor Writes a Page for Your Business

Start with the finding that shapes everything below. Across the vendor pages we read, not one uses the phrase banquet hall or wedding venue. Toast reaches this vertical through a BEO template page that says restaurants use a banquet event order for catering, a hotel page that mentions banquet catering and events, and a demo form on its sports and entertainment page that lists event centers and convention centers. SpotOn describes venue management software for restaurant event space. WellnessLiving's page names a small event venue, and it is an event, tour and activity platform. Three partial matches by three different routes, and no system built for what you run.

That matters because your money arrives in a shape a restaurant POS does not expect. You book an event months out, take a deposit, maybe take a second partial payment at a planning milestone, and collect a balance on or after the night. One invoice, several payments, spread across a calendar. Toast's Catering & Events documentation describes deposits plus additional partial payment requests against a single event invoice with a saved card for the balance, and that is the only description of this mechanism we found on any vendor page.

Then there is the charge at the bottom of the bill, which is where this vertical carries a risk a restaurant does not. IRS Revenue Ruling 2012-18 cites an earlier ruling holding that a fixed charge imposed by a banquet hall is a service charge, not a tip. The ruling lists four factors for a payment to count as a tip: it is made free from compulsion, the customer has the unrestricted right to determine the amount, it is not the subject of negotiation or dictated by employer policy, and the customer generally decides who receives it. Calling it a tip on the invoice does not settle it. The ruling says the employer's characterization is not determinative, and any part of a service charge paid to an employee is wages for FICA tax. Your invoice template and your payout are both affected.

Tax treatment then varies by state in ways that punish guesswork. Texas does not tax a mandatory gratuity of 20 percent or less when it is separately and clearly labeled as a tip or gratuity and distributed only to employees who regularly provide the service, and states that mandatory gratuities exceeding 20 percent are taxable. Vermont tells caterers that when catering is billed as a package, the 9 percent meals and rooms tax applies to all components, including the room or banquet hall, even when itemized. Itemizing does not save you in Vermont. Only these two states were checked.

“Managing event bookings, deposits, and final payments was challenging when everything was handled separately. Our banquet hall payment management system has helped us organize the process.”

Banquet Hall Owner

So judge any event venue POS software on deposit mechanics, invoice line control and what it costs to add the event feature. The table below sets the three systems against those questions and names each one's match route.

Compare the Top Banquet Hall and Event Venue POS Systems

Read the How this system matches your business column first. No vendor page we read names a banquet hall or a wedding venue, so every match here is by related wording and the column states which wording.

POS system Starting price Event add-on cost How this system matches your business Deposits and partial payments BEOs and event invoices Booking and double-booking protection
ToastBest for deposits and event paperwork Starter Kit from $0/mo for software. Point of Sale from $69/mo, first terminal subscription included, new customers and single locations only. Price from a blog post dated Oct 20, 2027 No Catering & Events price found on its product page. Invoicing: no additional monthly cost, but currently available to existing Toast customers only. Online payments carry processing fees, rate not on the page By related wording only. BEO template page says restaurants use a BEO for catering. Hotel page mentions banquet catering and events. Sports and entertainment page lists event centers and convention centers in a demo form Yes. Deposits plus additional partial payment requests on one event invoice, and a saved card to settle the balance. Catering & Events Pro. Not offered in Australia, Canada, Ireland or the UK Yes. Creates BEOs. Online invoices with due dates and reminders, existing Toast customers only Not stated
SpotOn All-In Plan $0 per station per month. Page states processing minimums apply and a 2-year minimum term Experiences $100/mo plus $250 one-time setup, which is $1,450 in year one By related wording only. Venue management software for restaurant event space Yes, prepayments Not stated Yes. Prepayments, reminders and double-booking protection
WellnessLiving Starter $69/mo. Business, which includes Events Scheduling, $199/mo. List prices alongside an 80% promotion whose stated expiry of Oct 31, 2027 has passed. Pay Annually saves 10%. Currency not labeled Events Scheduling sits in the Business tier at $199/mo, not a separate add-on. That is $130/mo above Starter, or $1,560 a year By related wording only, and the closest of the three. Its page names a small event venue. It is an event, tour and activity platform Yes. Deposits at booking and charges after service Not stated Deposits at booking. Double-booking protection not stated

Features and prices verified November 2026 from the vendor pages named in Sources. Not stated means the vendor has not published the detail, not that the capability is absent. No vendor page we read uses the words banquet hall or wedding venue.

Toast: Best for deposits across a payment schedule and for banquet event orders

Toast describes the deposit mechanism this business actually needs. Its Catering & Events documentation covers a deposit plus additional partial payment requests against one event invoice, with a saved card to settle the remaining balance. That is one invoice carrying several payments across a calendar, which is how a wedding or a conference gets paid for, and no other vendor page we read describes it. It also creates banquet event orders, and its Invoicing product sends online invoices with payment due dates and reminders.

Two pricing conditions decide whether any of that is reachable. Point of Sale starts at $69 a month with the first terminal subscription included, but that figure applies to new customers and single locations only, and it comes from a Toast blog post dated October 20, 2027 rather than a pricing page. More importantly, no Catering & Events price appears on its product page, and Catering & Events is the product that does the BEOs and the deposits. The thing that makes Toast relevant to you has no published number.

The Invoicing product has a condition of its own that is close to circular: no additional monthly cost, but currently available to existing Toast customers only. So the free invoicing is free once you are already paying for the POS. And Catering & Events Pro is not offered in Australia, Canada, Ireland or the UK, which rules it out for readers in those markets. Online payment processing fees apply with no rate on the page. Booking and double-booking protection are not stated anywhere.

Pros

  • Deposits plus additional partial payment requests on one event invoice
  • A saved card to settle the remaining balance
  • Creates banquet event orders
  • Online invoices with due dates and reminders

Cons

  • No Catering & Events price found on its product page
  • Invoicing is available to existing Toast customers only
  • Catering & Events Pro is not offered in Australia, Canada, Ireland or the UK
  • $69 applies to new customers and single locations only; figure taken from a blog post

Pricing: Starter Kit from $0/month for software. Point of Sale from $69/month, first terminal subscription included, new customers and single locations only. Subscription starts after 10 free orders. Sources: pos.toasttab.com/blog/on-the-line/toast-pricing (post dated Oct 20, 2027), pos.toasttab.com/products/catering-and-events, pos.toasttab.com/products/invoicing

SpotOn: Best for a venue that also runs a restaurant and needs booking control

SpotOn answers the calendar problem. Its Experiences product handles event and space booking with prepayments, reminders and double-booking protection, which is the one failure mode a venue cannot absorb: two parties sold the same room on the same Saturday. No other system here states double-booking protection.

Read the match route before you shortlist it. SpotOn describes venue management software for restaurant event space, so it is aimed at a restaurant with a private room or a function space rather than a standalone banquet hall. If you run a hall with a catering kitchen and no dining room, that gap is worth probing in the demo.

The pricing needs totalling, because the headline hides the commitment. The All-In Plan is $0 per station per month, and the page states that processing minimums apply and that there is a 2-year minimum term. Experiences is $100 a month plus a $250 one-time setup, which is $1,450 in year one on top of whatever the processing minimums come to. Those minimums are not quantified on the page, and a $0 plan with an unquantified minimum and a two-year lock is a contract question rather than a price. Get both numbers in writing. BEOs and event invoices are not stated.

Pros

  • Event and space booking with prepayments and reminders
  • Double-booking protection, the only system here that states it
  • All-In Plan at $0 per station per month
  • Built for venues attached to a restaurant operation

Cons

  • Processing minimums apply and are not quantified on the page
  • 2-year minimum term
  • Experiences costs $1,450 in year one on top of the base plan
  • BEOs and event invoices not stated

Pricing: All-In Plan $0 per station per month, page states processing minimums apply and a 2-year minimum term. Experiences add-on $100/mo plus $250 one-time setup. Sources: spoton.com/pricing, spoton.com/solutions/experiences

WellnessLiving: The closest direct naming, from the furthest category

WellnessLiving is the only one of the three whose page names a small event venue, which makes it the closest direct match on this page. It takes deposits at booking and charges after service, which fits the shape of an event: money up front, money after the night.

It is also the furthest from hospitality. This is an event, tour and activity platform, and the reference point behind it is a business that sells scheduled experiences rather than one that caters a sit-down dinner for 200. Before you shortlist it, test it against a real banquet: a catering order, a bar tab, a room charge and a service charge on one bill. Nothing we read describes BEOs or event invoices.

The pricing carries a timing problem worth naming. Starter is $69 a month and Business, which includes Events Scheduling, is $199 a month, which is $2,388 a year at list or $130 a month more than Starter. Those are list prices recorded alongside an 80 percent promotion whose stated expiry, October 31, 2027, has now passed. Work from the list figures and confirm the current price directly, because we have not verified what replaced that promotion. A Pay Annually option showing a 10 percent saving is also displayed, which would put Business at $2,149.20 a year. The page does not label its currency.

Pros

  • The only page of the three that names a small event venue
  • Deposits at booking and charges after service
  • Published tier pricing with a stated annual-payment saving
  • Events Scheduling included in the Business tier rather than sold separately

Cons

  • An event, tour and activity platform rather than a hospitality system
  • No BEOs or event invoices stated
  • Double-booking protection not stated
  • Prices recorded alongside a promotion whose stated expiry has passed; currency not labeled

Pricing: Starter $69/mo; Business, which includes Events Scheduling, $199/mo. List prices before an 80% promo with a stated expiry of Oct 31, 2027. A Pay Annually (Save 10%) option is also shown. "$" not labeled USD. Source: wellnessliving.com/pricing

How to Choose the Right POS for Your Banquet Hall or Event Venue

  • Start by accepting that no vendor writes for you

    No POS page we read uses the words banquet hall or wedding venue. That is not a research gap, it is the market. So stop looking for the system built for your business and start checking which related product covers your three hard requirements: a deposit schedule on one invoice, an event document your staff can work from, and a calendar that cannot be double sold. Ask every salesperson which of their customers runs a venue like yours, and ask for the reference.

  • Price the event feature, not the base plan

    Every headline on this page is a base price that does not include the event capability. Toast's $69 does not include Catering & Events, and no price for it appears on the product page. SpotOn's $0 per station does not include Experiences, which is $100 a month plus $250 setup, or $1,450 in year one. WellnessLiving's $69 Starter does not include Events Scheduling, which sits in the $199 Business tier, $130 a month higher. Build your comparison from the event-inclusive figure or you will be comparing three numbers that mean nothing.

  • Walk a real event through the deposit mechanics

    Take one booking you already have. A deposit at signing, a second payment at the menu tasting, a balance the week before, and an overage on the night for a bar tab nobody planned. Ask the vendor to show that on one invoice. Toast's documentation describes deposits plus additional partial payment requests against a single event invoice with a saved card for the balance. If a system cannot hold several payments against one event, you will be reconciling by hand all year.

  • Label the service charge correctly, because the IRS does not take your word for it

    IRS Revenue Ruling 2012-18 cites an earlier ruling holding that a fixed charge imposed by a banquet hall is a service charge rather than a tip, and lists four factors for a tip: free from compulsion, the customer's unrestricted right to determine the amount, not the subject of negotiation or dictated by employer policy, and the customer generally deciding who receives it. The ruling states that the employer's characterization of a payment as a tip is not determinative, and that any part of a service charge paid to an employee is wages for FICA tax. Your POS controls how that line is labeled and how the payout is recorded. Set it with your accountant, not with a default template.

  • Set tax per line and per state, then check your own state

    Texas does not tax a mandatory gratuity of 20 percent or less when it is separately and clearly labeled as a tip or gratuity and distributed only to employees who regularly provide the service, and states that mandatory gratuities exceeding 20 percent are taxable. On a $5,000 event bill that threshold sits at $1,000. Vermont tells caterers that when catering is billed as a package, the 9 percent meals and rooms tax applies to all components including the room or banquet hall, even when itemized. Note that the Texas publication is dated 03/2014, is written for restaurants and does not address caterers or hall rental. Only these two states were checked. Confirm your own with your tax advisor.

  • Settle the alcohol permit before you take the booking, not after

    If you cater off premises, California and New York both require separate authorization. California's Type 58 Caterer's Permit requires the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to authorize all catering events, caps catered events at 36 per year at any given location, and requires the approval document to be at the event. New York's Catering Permit is a one-day permit allowing an active on-premises retail licensee to serve at a specific off-premises event. That 36-event cap is an operating constraint, not paperwork. Other states vary and were not researched, and rules for serving on your own licensed premises were not researched either.

  • Read the contract terms, not just the monthly price

    SpotOn's $0 per station plan carries processing minimums that the page does not quantify and a 2-year minimum term. Toast's $69 applies to new customers and single locations only. WellnessLiving's figures sit alongside a promotion whose stated expiry has passed. None of those is a reason not to buy; all of them are reasons to get the full terms in writing before the deposit season starts.

Frequently Asked Questions About Banquet Hall and Event Venue POS

Is any of these actually built for a banquet hall?

No. Across the vendor pages we read, none uses the words banquet hall or wedding venue. Toast reaches this vertical through a BEO template page written for restaurants, a hotel page mentioning banquet catering, and a demo form listing event centers. SpotOn describes venue management software for restaurant event space. WellnessLiving's page names a small event venue and it is an event, tour and activity platform. Treat all three as adjacent products and verify every capability against your own operation.

Can I take a deposit and then a balance on the same event invoice?

Toast's Catering & Events documentation describes deposits plus additional partial payment requests against one event invoice, with a saved card to settle the remaining balance. SpotOn states prepayments and WellnessLiving states deposits at booking with charges after service, but neither describes several partial payments against a single invoice. If POS with deposit and installment payment management is your reason for shopping, that narrows the field to one description.

Which one creates a banquet event order?

Toast, on its Catering & Events product. SpotOn and WellnessLiving do not state BEOs. Note that Toast's own BEO resource is a template page framed around restaurants using a BEO for catering, so confirm in the demo that the output suits a venue running several events a week rather than a restaurant taking an occasional booking.

What does the event feature cost on top of the base plan?

SpotOn's Experiences is $100 a month plus a $250 one-time setup, which is $1,450 in year one. WellnessLiving puts Events Scheduling in its Business tier at $199 a month, $130 above Starter, or $1,560 a year more. Toast publishes no Catering & Events price on its product page, and its Invoicing product carries no additional monthly cost but is currently available to existing Toast customers only.

Is a mandatory service charge a tip?

Not under IRS Revenue Ruling 2012-18, which cites an earlier ruling holding that a fixed charge imposed by a banquet hall is a service charge rather than a tip. The ruling sets out four factors for a tip and states that the employer's characterization of a payment as a tip is not determinative, and that any part of a service charge paid to an employee is wages for FICA tax. This is a summary of what the ruling says, not tax advice. Take it to your accountant.

How is a service charge or mandatory gratuity taxed?

It depends on the state, and the two we checked differ. Texas does not tax a mandatory gratuity of 20 percent or less when it is separately and clearly labeled and distributed only to employees who regularly provide the service, and says mandatory gratuities over 20 percent are taxable. Vermont tells caterers that package billing applies the 9 percent meals and rooms tax to all components including the room, even when itemized. Only Texas and Vermont were checked, and the Texas publication is dated 03/2014 and written for restaurants.

Do I need a separate permit to serve alcohol at an off-site event?

In California and New York, yes. California's Type 58 Caterer's Permit requires ABC authorization for all catering events, limits catered events to 36 per year at any given location, and requires the approval document to be present at the event. New York issues a one-day Catering Permit to an active on-premises retail licensee for a specific off-premises event. Other states vary and were not researched here, and we did not research rules for serving on a venue's own licensed premises.

How We Chose These POS Systems

We searched the major POS vendors for pages naming banquet halls, wedding venues or event spaces, and found none using the first two phrases. We then read the pages that reach this vertical by related wording and recorded the route for each, so you can judge the fit yourself rather than take a match on trust. Each price and feature cites the page it came from, read in November 2026, and where a vendor publishes no price, as with Toast's Catering & Events, we say so instead of estimating.

We have not run any of these systems in a working venue, we have not been briefed by any of these vendors, and we have no survey or study data of our own to cite. Square and Hike have catering pages that do not name venues, so we left them out rather than stretch the match. The Global Payments Genius stadium and venue page names sports and entertainment venues, not banquet halls or wedding venues, so it is not here either. Regulatory passages come from the IRS, the Texas Comptroller, the Vermont Department of Taxes, the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control and the New York State Liquor Authority pages named in Sources, and describe what those pages say. Only Texas and Vermont were checked on tax, and only California and New York on alcohol. Nothing here is legal or tax advice, and no system is described as compliant with any rule.

Read our full method at /how-we-review/. Reviewed by CanComCo, Partner Experience Manager. Updated November 2026.

Our Verdict: Best Banquet Hall and Event Venue POS Overall

Toast is the pick, because it is the only system here that describes the payment shape your business runs on: a deposit plus additional partial payment requests against one event invoice, with a saved card for the balance, alongside banquet event orders and invoices with due dates. Settle two things in writing first. Ask for the Catering & Events price, which does not appear on the product page, and confirm the Invoicing terms, which currently apply to existing Toast customers only. If you are in Australia, Canada, Ireland or the UK, Catering & Events Pro is not offered and this recommendation does not reach you.

SpotOn is the runner-up and the better answer if your venue sits inside a restaurant and your worst failure is a double booking, at $1,450 in year one for Experiences on top of a plan carrying unquantified processing minimums and a two-year term.

One caution for the whole category. No vendor on this page writes for banquet halls, and the charge at the bottom of your invoice carries a federal rule that names them directly. Decide with your accountant how that line is labeled and paid before you configure any system.

Get a POS

Tell us about your business and we will take it from there. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

We use your details to respond to your request and keep form submissions for up to 24 months after our last interaction. We share your details with a vendor only when you give us permission. See our Privacy Policy.